GAPS Day 1: It has begun…

…cue the ominous music…

We officially started the GAPS diet on Sunday, July 6th. For more information on the diet and why we’re doing it, check out my previous post.

Day 1
Breakfast: Butternut squash soup
Mid-Morning Snack: Chicken and broccoli soup
Lunch-ish: Chicken breast with zucchini, squash, cauliflower, and onions
Dinner: Meatballs, zucchini, squash, onions, and pureed butternut squash

The boys did…*okay*. Not great, but okay. I think Wickett “gets it” more than Boba, because he’s been doing some sort of restricted diet for 2.5 yrs. But Boba? Poor guy kept asking about juice, fruit, cereal, etc. I hear ya, buddy…I hear ya.

We read through the social story I wrote (a little book talking about the diet, why we’re doing it, etc.) before bedtime, and they seemed at least a little interested.

So…day 1? Not a huge deal. I didn’t *love* any of the food we had, and it was certainly a challenge to try and get the boys to eat it, but I am glad for the changes I know will be coming.

Namaste, y’all.

Leave a Reply

